Day One…..Again

fleetwood

My First Classroom

Last week, I listened to the Moments of Inspiration podcast titled, “Thanks for the Memories.”  The episode highlighted the parallels of everyone’s first year of teaching to remote learning.

moiI couldn’t help but reflect on my first year of teaching.  Coming fresh out of student teaching 6th grade at the American School Foundation in Guadalajara, I applied for one job in one school system at one school……my older wiser self would call that as stupid.  My spirit saw it as a leap of faith.

A unique situation, my first school had one class per grade level, but there had been a surge of kindergartners. I was the over flow teacher with nine sweet little babies…….in the basement of a trailer in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. Do you see that beautiful blue building pictured above?….the bottom was mine. We were, “The Kinders Down Under.” Added humor for those very familiar with the bathroom habits of primary children…..the bathroom was a single sitting cinder block add on upstairs. The bus parking lot was right beside us.  In some eyes it could have been considered a disaster, but it was my disaster.  Although I will attest that Appalachian State is the best college for upcoming teachers…….I had to grow more that first year than ever.  These are a few lessons I learned.

Lean on Your Peers

If it had not been for that amazing school community, I would not have survived.  They were nurturing and helpful.  I remember the first time I had a discipline issue and just didn’t know what to do.  My principal loaned me the book, Discipline with Dignity.  He treated me like a daughter and made me feel comfortable about asking for help rather than always trying to navigate through on my own.  My mentor teachers took me in and shared lessons, guided me through ideas, and asked for help when they thought I had something to offer.  Everyone had a place a the table our janitor, teacher assistants, cafeteria workers, parents, teachers……everybody, even me.  I am forever thankful for these folks and still consider them family today.  Where you teach is just as important as what you teach.  I tell this to every beginning teacher.  Seek a place where you feel that you can be supported and grow.

Remote learning is new for everyone.  Lean in on those that can help you and see others to help guide.  Remember to sit at the table together and be inviting so others can join in.

Relationships, Relationships, Relationships

I couldn’t have leaned on my peers if everyone wasn’t open to forming  positive relationships.  I remember my mentor teacher advising me when she said, “The parent is always the first teacher, you are the secondary.”  This taught me honor and respect my students families.  That very beginning advice has guided me against the “us vs them” theme that can be so easy to slip into as an educator.  Still today, miles apart, I remain close with many of my first families.  Those strong relationships also helped them forgive me in my mistakes…..believe me, there were so many.  While remote teaching, you will make mistakes.  We all will. I know some are getting so tired of the cliche, “We are all in this together,” but it can carry so much weight if taken seriously on all sides.

Safety First, Safety Always

Speaking of mistakes.  I could write a safety manual or humor piece on all of my mistakes.  It would have to be anonymous as it would be so embarrassing.  After that first year of teaching, I always over planned and considered the worst case scenario before moving forward.  The worst case scenario didn’t always stop me….but the awareness helped me better prepare for monkey wrenches.  When remote teaching, always navigate through your assignments first to make sure they are accessible and appropriate for what you are teaching.  There are amazing resources that can help you approach Digital Citizenship in a meaningful way here.

I would not trade my first year for anything.  If I close my eyes today, I can still picture my students sitting on the carpet as I read a book from the rocking chair.  I can still see them walking to the cafeteria like little ducks in the rain.  I can still feel the fear as I sent one to the bathroom upstairs for ‘mergencies’ not sure of the outcome. I absolutely still feel the warmth that my colleagues shared when I felt defeated and lonely.

How does your first year of teaching parallel to this school year? 

How can you be inviting and supporting to others? 

Who can you reach out to when you feel defeated?

2 thoughts on “Day One…..Again”

  1. My first job out of college was as a kindergarten teacher too! And you are so right the parallels are amazingly strong and the school you choose is your second home and family. There should always be room at the table. If there’s not, it’s time to find a new table in a different school. You have been a tremendous asset to our school (and COUNTY and STATE) in getting everyone comfortable in their second first year of teaching. You’re the BEST!

    Like

Leave a comment