Distance Learning – We ARE Ready For This Part 2

We’ve had a little over a week where a possibility transformed to a certain.  The mathematical part of my brain can see this week as a slanted bell curve with a peek reaching Tuesday with things starting to calm as we end the work week.  Y’all, we are living in a major moment in history right now!  I think about books read as a child in the context of children living through historical events.  Our children are those children right now.  I’ve told my boys time and again…..you are going to have so many stories to tell your children and grandchildren.  Hurricane Florence….Covid-19.

Now that devices have been given, this is my reality….logan

 

 

 

 

 

This child, in a world filled with uncertainty, worry, and concern has found excitement.  This child, is ready for you.  He has so much to teach us.  This is what I know, and it holds true every day.

Your students want to learn and create.
They want to see & hear you. 
They want you to see & hear them. 
They want to see & hear each other.

Funny thing, none of these concepts are new.  They are the feelings that children have on any given day, pandemic or not.  If we truly want to move in the right direction for remote/distance learning opportunities, we must hold and protect these truths.  

I probably get 50-70 emails a day, easily,  on my work email.  That number has quadrupled over the past week with many of them edtech companies offering free services for a limited time.  Multiply that by a gazillion and you get even more online suggestions in your social media feeds.  Remember, regardless of where you are teaching your students, those basic needs must be met.  When you are sifting through platforms and programs, look for what can foster creativity in your absence.  Seek out opportunities to spark that curiosity within every child. Search for ways to them to connect with each other and you for those emotional checks.

When sharing with my staff, I collected my favorite tools along with some wonderful resources I would like to share with you.   This by no means is all my own work, but a collection over time from suggestions, experience, colleagues and my wonderful twitter PLN. We must spread the good.

Keep in mind, as always, that standards can be taught, met, and exceeded while keeping the truths of children at the top priority.  

 

 

Leave a comment